Home > County Government > Elected Officials > Treasurer


Van Buren County Treasurer

The office of the County Treasurer is a Constitutional office as established by the Constitution of the State of Michigan. The duties of the County Treasurer are established by law and authorized by the Board of Commissioners.

The main duties of the County Treasurer are as follows:
- Custodian of the County Funds
- Receipt of all money received by the county
- Investment of surplus funds
- Maintenance of the General Ledger
- Property Tax AdministrationPreparation of tax roll
- Computer Support for Townships, Villages & Cities
- Collection of Summer taxes for South Haven School District
- Audit of Principal Residence Exemptions
- Collection of Delinquent Taxes
- Foreclosure and sale of property for delinquent taxes
- Sale of Dog Licenses

Karen Makay was first elected Van Buren County Treasurer in November 1996, serving since January 1, 1997. As County Treasurer, Karen serves as Chairman of the Van Buren County Remonumentation Committee as well as serving as a member of the County Plat Board, Elections Commission, Building Authority and Technology Committee. Karen has served as President of the Michigan Association of County Treasurers.

Tax Sale Link
Property Tax Information Search

This page last updated on 2/7/2017.

County Treasurer

Van Buren County Treasurer
Administration & Land Services Building, First Floor
219 E. Paw Paw Street, Suite 101
Paw Paw, MI 49079
(269) 657-8228
(269) 657-8227 FAX
Hours M - F 8:30 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.

County Treasurer [Click here to view full size picture]

Karen Makay

Tania Sheeley-Myers
Chief Deputy

Evie Longshore
Deputy Treasurer

Kelle Dillon
Deputy Treasurer

Cathy Bailey
Part-time Deputy Treasurer





This site and its contents © 2017 Van Buren County
219 E. Paw Paw St. | Suite 303 | Paw Paw, MI  49079-1429 | 269-657-8200

Powered by Community Center from LIAA